Some little questions from a redis newbie

Hi guys,
I’m totally new to Redis, and I’m very impressed with its performance.
I started by accident, developing a Drupal site locally on Mamp, which has Redis built in.

There are a few things I don’t understand:

1. The Redis server is up and I have 3 sites connected (1 + 2 mirror for testing sites), but if I open the stats I have this result:
    /Applications/MAMP/Library/bin/redis-cli -s /Applications/MAMP/tmp/redis.sock --stat
    iMac:~ Reportec$ /Applications/MAMP/Library/bin/redis-cli -s /Applications/MAMP/tmp/redis.sock --stat
    Could not connect to Redis at /Applications/MAMP/tmp/redis.sock: No such file or directory

and in fact the redis.sock file is not in that directory or anywhere else.

Basically, the only files I have available in ~/Applications/Mamp(Library/bin are:
redis-benchmark
redis-check-aof
redis-check-rdb
redis-cli
redis-server

and in ~/Applications/Mamp/Library/logs/redis_error.log

1. Same thing happens with the radis.conf file, which I occasionally read about it in some instructions, but which doesn’t exist anywhere in my installation. Can I create it/them from scratch?

2. Last but not least, a local server is not always on like a normal server, so every time I restart the mac I have to start the redis server by going into the redis-server exec. Is there a tool to get it started quickly?

How rude; I hit send before thanking anyone who can help me figure out what I can do to improve my knowledge and operation with Redis.
Thanks to all

1 Like

I’m new to redis too, but I’ll tell you based on what I know.

There is a parameter in the redis.conf file that specifies the Unix socket path. you can find the path to the redis.sock file.

# Unix socket.
#
# Specify the path for the Unix socket that will be used to listen for
# incoming connections. There is no default, so Redis will not listen
# on a unix socket when not specified.
#
# unixsocket /tmp/redis.sock
# unixsocketperm 700