Newbie: efficient way to bulk-delete some items

I am totally new to Redis (and its genre). So far it looks and performs great. However I need some guidance in following best practice for my use-case. Explained below. I also have a particular question at the end.

I use Redis for storage of 3,4 types of data all stored as key-value pairs (key=text, value=json string). Some of this data types are ephemeral meaning that they need to be deleted after some short time interval. Whereas another are persistent and need to be kept for the life of the app, for example total statistics: how much time it is running, how many results found, etc. This data is persistent.

I use C for doing the analysis of data in a big loop at the end of which it stores results in Redis (unix-socket,same computer). Then my web-app living in my web-server (same computer) reads Redis (in regular intervals) reads data if available and serves them as html via a broswer to clients.

I use hiredis to interact with Redis from C.
My web-app is Perl-based, Mojolicious and uses Mojo::Redis to interact with Redis.

All this works well and thanks all free-open-source-software for this. Until I want to optimise or implement particular behaviour, for example, at the end of each loop I want to delete all ephemeral items (the results at the end of the loop which have already been presented) but keep all persistent items (the statistics). I have already made sure that my key-names are grouped so that I can do (if I could!) DEL ephemeral-*

So the question is how to bulk-delete based on a key-pattern-regex in a good and best-practice way. Like: delete ephemeral-*

I have searched for this and the majority of the answers regurgitate this: fetch all matching keys using SCAN and then DEL each (with demo bash script provided).

How to do this via C using hiredis in an optimised way?